The Paleo Mama

Nurturing & Nourishing My Paleo Family

What the Heck is Kombucha?

Over on my Facebook page, I am always talking about Kombucha. I am a Kombucha addict. I love it. I love the taste, the smell, and the squishy SCOBY’s that I use to make the drink. It is my drink of choice.

_MG_2374

I get so many messages and comments from people who have never heard of it. Well, here is my little bit of knowledge on Kombucha, without quoting any sources because they just make it more confusing!

Kombucha is an ancient elixir that has a history of starting in China and, somehow, made it’s way over here to America. It is a sort of “tea” that is infused by fermentation with beneficial bacteria, probiotics, and yeast and is great for your gut and overall health. It is made from either using black or green tea, and some herbal teas, some sugar (which the yeast feeds on), and lots of patience.

The SCOBY (“symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast”) looks like a flat mushroom but solid and squishy. This SCOBY is actually alive and feeds on the white sugar that is in the tea. Wait, WHITE SUGAR?!?! Yes, plain old white sugar. It may be the only thing I buy white sugar for, but my SCOBY’s thrive on it. After fermentation, which usually takes around 7-10 days, the SCOBY is then taken out of the tea and the tea is then bottled and refrigerated and ready to drink! Or, you may choose to do a second fermentation which is just for a few more days. The purpose of the second fermentation is to create more “fizz” (Kombucha is naturally carbonated because of the fermentation) and, also, a time to add any kind of fruit flavorings that you may want to the tea. My flavoring of choice is Pom juice. I add a few ounces to every 16 ounce jar and it gives it a delicious taste.

_MG_2376

Taste. What does it taste like? I get this question all the time and it’s really hard to describe the taste. To me it taste like something between a hard cider and champagne. But, no, Kombucha is not alcoholic.

Why do I drink it? Well, first of all, I’m cheap. I am a self-proclaimed cheapo and the cost of probiotics is just ridiculous. The cost to make a gallon of Kombucha is around $1! The cost to buy a 16 ounce bottle of Kombucha from a health food store is $4!!! The cost to buy a bottle of probiotics is $40! Hmmm, tough decision but I’ll stick with my cheap Kombucha!

How do I go about making it? Find a friend, Craigslist ad, or order a SCOBY online. I found mine from a Craiglist ad. The thing with SCOBY’s is that they keep reproducing. I, almost, always have a SCOBY to give away because with each new fermentation a “baby” SCOBY is born! So, people are usually throwing them away if they can’t find a new home for their “babies”. Once you find a SCOBY, the rest is easy and you will have an endless supply of Kombucha.

How I make it:

Step One: Boil 2 quarts of water and add 3 family-size tea bags and 1 cup of white sugar. You can use organic sugar and organic tea if you would like, but it is not necessary.

Step Two: Once the tea is cooled (not hot, you could kill your SCOBY) add it to a gallon glass jar. Must be glass. Then add 2 more quarts of filtered water and 1 cup of starter liquid (which should have come with your new SCOBY).

Step Three: Cover the jar with a coffee filter or cloth and set aside to ferment for 7-10 days. Taste it every other day or so and you will learn about the process of how the SCOBY alters the taste.

Step Four: Take the SCOBY and the new baby that may have formed on the top of the liquid and put them aside.

Step Five: This is personal preference now, as I mentioned above. Either bottle it up and put the Kombucha in the fridge or do a second fermentation. I don’t do a second fermentation. I just bottle it up, add a few ounces of Pom juice to the bottles and put them in the fridge. Make sure you keep 1 cup of the Kombucha to put in the next batch. This is your starter liquid which will get the next batch going.

Step Six: Repeat steps 1-5 and drink up!

***I’ve been told that you should start slow with drinking Kombucha because it is a natural detoxer. I started drinking a cup a day and then gradually increased it. I, now, drink about 32 ounces a day and enjoy every sip of it!***

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “What the Heck is Kombucha?

  1. what do you do with the Scoby betwean batches? keep in fridg or just on the counter?

  2. Leslie on said:

    Try pineapple-ginger. It’s to die for!!!!

  3. Sharon D. on said:

    do you still get the same health benefits without the second fermentation?

  4. Jennifer on said:

    Thanks for the info! Does kombucha have caffeine? I suppose this depends on what tea you start with.

    • Yes it has a little bit and varies from about 5mg-10mg per 8 ounces. If you make your own kombucha, you can decaffeinate your tea before making kombucha out of it. Steep your tea for 30-60 seconds in water, throw out that water, then steep in fresh water for the kombucha.

  5. Suggestions for where to get a gallon glass jar? How much do you give the kids a day? I was thinking of starting the triplets off with an oz of first-batch mixed with water…?

    • I use old gallon pickle jars! It was cheaper to buy pickles than to buy a plain glass jar! However Walmart has glass jars I think. My kids prefer it straight up mixed with some Pom juice. You could start with an ounce or two mixed with some fruit purée or juice!

  6. peggy Schuneman on said:

    I am watching my carbs….any clue how much are in it?

  7. Just started my first Kombucha experiment. I got the start up scoby online and we are using the continuous brewing technique. I’m so excited to try it! I like that you add Pom juice too, I think that sounds good.

Leave a comment